2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission

Shape California's Future


Sign-up below for up to date news about the selection process for the commission

Thank you for participating in the application and selection process in forming the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission (Commission). The process is now completed and the 2020 Commission is fully formed. Congratulations to the 14 members of the Commission who are:

  • Isra Ahmad, No Party Preference
  • Linda Akutagawa, No Party Preference
  • Jane Andersen, Republican
  • Alicia Fernández, Republican
  • Neal Forniciari, Republican
  • Dr. J. Ray Kennedy, Democrat
  • Antonio Le Mons, No Party Preference
  • Dr. Sara Sadhwani, Democrat
  • Patricia Sinay, Democrat
  • Derric Taylor, Republican
  • Pedro Toledo, No Party Preference
  • Trena Turner, Democrat
  • Angela Vázquez, Democrat
  • Russell Yee, Republican

This Commission is charged with redrawing California's Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization district lines. We hope you continue to be a part of shaping California's future and follow the 2020 Commission as they redraw district lines. Sign up to receive alerts and follow their work by visiting their website WeDrawTheLines@ca.gov. All future notices and information about California redistricting will be posted on WeDrawTheLines@ca.gov and because the application and selection process is complete, this website will no longer be updated. Thank you for being a part of this process—we urge you to remain involved as this Commission seeks your input in drawing our great state's political lines.

About the Commission

Every ten years, after the federal census, California must re-establish the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts to reflect new population data and shifting populations. The Voters FIRST Act gave this power to California citizens ensuring that new and fair political boundaries are drawn without special interests, politics and political influence.

Over 20,000 Californians submitted an initial application to become one of the 14 members on the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission. Of those, over 2,000 chose to continue in the process by submitting and completing a supplemental application package. The Applicant Review Panel (Panel) reviewed these supplemental application materials and made decisions about applicants during various public meetings and, as required, identified 120 applicants to interview. The Panel conducted interviews in a public meeting between March 2, 2020 and April 23, 2020. The Panel's final meeting began May 6, 2020 and ended on May 7, 2020, when it selected 60 of the most qualified applicants (20 Democrats, 20 Republicans, and 20 who are not affiliated with either of those two parties) to the Legislature. To see demographic information about those 60 remaining applicants and all information about previous Panel public meetings, visit the Panel's page.

Consistent with the Governor's Executive Orders due to the unprecedented situation with the Coronavirus (COVID-19), the meeting room was not opened to the public. However, the Panel meetings were conducted remotely and all Panel meetings were livestreamed and publicly accessible via our website.

On June 26, 2020, the Legislature provided a list of remaining applicants. On July 2, 2020, the California State Auditor randomly drew the names of the first eight commissioners. As required by the Voters FIRST Act, these first eight members were required to choose the final six members no later than August 15, 2020. Prior to performing their duties necessary to select the final six commissioners, the first eight commissioners received training in preparation, and did so at their first meeting, which commenced on July 21, 2020.

The first eight commissioners then met from Tuesday, August 4, 2020 through August 7, 2020 to select the final six members of the 2020 Commission. For more information about that meeting, visit the commissioners' page.

Stay involved with your redistricting process and follow the Commission's work at WeDrawTheLines@ca.gov.

Visit our General Information tab for more details on the application and selection process. For application materials for the selected commissioners, please see the applications site.

There are a number of local jurisdictions that are setting up local redistricting commissions in 2020/21. Thus, there may be opportunities for individuals to participate in redistricting efforts at the city or county level. Here is a list of cities and counties that are or will be establishing a local citizens redistricting commission. Contact your city council or county board of supervisors to get more information.

crosswalk with people at sunset