Role of the Commissioner

The Citizens Redistricting Commission (Commission) is a 14-member commission that Californians created by passing the Voters FIRST Act in the November 2008 general election and the VOTERS FIRST Act for Congress in the November 2010 general election. The 14 commissioners are responsible for establishing the geographic boundaries for California's Congressional districts, State Assembly districts, State Senate districts, and State Board of Equalization districts so that they comply with applicable laws and contain reasonably equal populations. These adjusted district boundaries will stay in effect for the subsequent 10-year period.

The Commission will have one year to determine and approve the district maps starting no later than August 15, 2020 and ending August 15, 2021 when the final maps must be presented to the Secretary of State for certification. During this time period, the commissioners will be performing complex tasks that include, but are not limited to, the following:

The Commission will determine the amount of time each commissioner will devote to the process and the specific tasks assigned to each individual commissioner.