2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission

Laws & Regulations

Every ten years, after the federal census, California must redraw the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts to reflect the new population data. In 2008, California voters passed the Voters FIRST Act authorizing the creation of an independent commission comprised of 14 members, including five Democrats, five Republicans and four who are either registered without a, or "independent" of any, political party (decline-to-state or no party preference) or with another party. The Commission is responsible for drawing the lines of each district. The open application period for new Commission members begins June 10, 2019, and will run through August 19, 2019, by 5:00 p.m. PST.

The California State Auditor's Office is a state entity that is independent of the executive branch and legislative control. The purpose of the California State Auditor’s Office is to improve California government by promoting the performance, accountability, and transparency that its citizens deserve. For more information on the State Auditor, please visit www.auditor.ca.gov.

All Regulations Related to Citizens Redistricting Commission

Recent Final Changes to the Regulations for Citizens Redistricting Commission (PDF)

Recent Changes to the Regulations for Citizens Redistricting Commission (Strikeout Version) (PDF)